Español   |    Careers   |    Site Map     
Contact Us   | Phone #s   | Twitter   | People   | Facilities  
MyAccount Login
Contractors &
Nuclear Emergency, Storm,
Outage, Safety
Investors &
About Us

Home > About Us > Company > Board of Directors

May 2010 Board Meeting Minutes


Thursday, May 13, 2010


The regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the Omaha Public Power District was held in the Board Room on the Atrium Level of Energy Plaza East, on May 13, 2010, at 10:00 a.m.


                        Present were Directors N. P. Dodge Jr., J. K. Green, G. C. Hall, A. L. McGuire, and F. J. Ulrich.  Directors Cavanaugh, Thompson and Weber were absent.  Also present were W. G. Gates, President and S. M. Bruckner and T. F. Meyerson, General Counsel for the District.  Mr. Green, Board Chair, presided, and Ms. Emerson, Corporate Secretary, recorded the minutes.  Other members of Management present were D. J. Bannister, T. J. Burke, M. I. Doghman, E. E. Easterlin, J. T. Hansen, A. J. Minks, G. R. Williams, L. L. Kapustka,  C. L. Buettner, J. Fried,  M. C. Bodammer, D. L. Stattler, J. J. Hanson, and M. R. Jones.   Others present included Mr. D. Bodammer, C. E. Perkins from I.B.E.W. Local #763; K. S. Dowdy, I.B.E.W. Local #1483, Danielle Jensen, and  Mark Welsch; and approximately seven employees of the District. 


                        The Corporate Secretary read the following:


“Notice of the time and place of this meeting was publicized by notifying the area news media; by  publicizing  same in the Omaha World-Herald and Outlets; by  displaying  such  notice on the Arcade Level of Energy Plaza since May 7, 2010; and by mailing such notice to each of the District’s Directors on that same date.


“A copy of the proposed agenda for this meeting has been maintained, on a current basis, and is readily available for public inspection in the office of the District’s Corporate Secretary.


“Additionally, a copy of the Open Meetings Law is available for inspection in the public meeting book located in this meeting room.”


                        It was moved and seconded that the Board reviewed the March 2010 Comprehensive Financial and Operating Report and that the minutes for the last meeting be approved.  The vote was recorded as follows:  Weber – Absent; Cavanaugh – Absent; Dodge – Yes; Hall – Yes; McGuire – Yes; Thompson – Absent; Ulrich – Yes; and Green – Yes.  The motion carried.






Thereafter, the Corporate Secretary read the following:


“Persons wishing to address the Board on a particular item are asked to approach the microphone as that agenda item is discussed.  Comments will be heard following Board discussion of the item and prior to a vote by the Board.”


                        The following resolutions were then read, and upon motion duly seconded, were placed on roll call.  The vote on each resolution is indicated following the description of that resolution.


                        RESOLUTION NO. 5822 approves the Engineer’s Certification and authorizes Management to negotiate and award the necessary contracts for new condensate pumps for the Fort Calhoun Station at an estimated cost of $4.1 million.  Director Dodge led the discussion stating the equipment is necessary to ensure continued safe, reliable operation of the nuclear plant at power uprate conditions that will be in effect following the fall 2012 refueling outage.  This will involve increasing the horsepower of the condensate motors to 2,500 hp.  The process is complicated and requires exact specifications.  He also indicated the sealed bid process is impractical and not in the best interest of the public.  For these reasons, the Nuclear Oversight Committee urges passage of this motion.  Vice President Bannister indicated there is contingency funding available if it is found that rewinding the pump motors is not adequate and new motors must be purchased.  Following the discussion, the vote was recorded as follows:  Weber – Absent; Cavanaugh – Absent; Dodge – Yes; Hall – Yes; McGuire – Yes; Thompson – Absent; Ulrich – Yes; and Green – Yes.  The motion carried.


        RESOLUTION NO. 5823 approves a resolution honoring M. Catharine Bodammer  upon her retirement.  President Gates and Chairman Green expressed their appreciation and well wishes to Corporate Secretary Bodammer.  Thereafter, each director personally congratulated Ms. Bodammer commending her on her positive attitude, her honest and dedicated service to the District and commitment to excellence.  Following these comments, the vote was recorded as follows:  Weber – Absent; Cavanaugh – Absent; Dodge – Yes; Hall – Yes; McGuire – Yes; Thompson – Absent;  Ulrich – Yes; and Green – Yes.  The motion carried. 


                   Copies of the foregoing resolutions are filed in the District’s Corporate Records file.                     


                  The next order of business was a presentation by Danielle Jensen, Public & Government Relations Liason, for the Nebraska Energy Office.  The Office was established in 1977 to promote the efficient, economic, and environmentally responsible use of energy.  They work with state officials, utilities, and private industry leaders on energy issues.  They also manage several federal and state programs, provide information to consumers, and work with the Nebraska Wind Working Group.  Danielle gave a brief overview of their various programs. 



            At this time, Chairman Green and President Gates presented a framed resolution to Ms. Bodammer.     


                        The next item of business was the opportunity for those in attendance to address the Board on any items of District concern.  No one in attendance addressed the Board.


                      At this time, Chairman Green congratulated Director Hall for his performance in the  Boston Marathon held on Patriot’s Day, April 19, 2010.


                        There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at ­­­­­10:35 a.m.





A. J. Minks                                                                  D. S. Emerson                                     

Assistant Secretary                                                       Corporate Secretary



Board of Directors

bullet Board Mtg Schedule
bullet Board Mtg Minutes
bullet Committee Mtg Material
bullet Rules for Public Participation
bullet Approved Board of Directors Redistricting
bullet Preliminary 2014 Corporate Operating Plan
bullet Sustainablity Update March 20 2014
bullet Energy Assistance Program (EAP)/Common Fund

Most Popular

Power Drive
Senior Managers
Board of Directors
Service Territory
  Mobile    Español   Careers   Site Map    Privacy    Webmaster